Can I be Five Again?

Ugh! Seriously though, can I be five again? In my whole nineteen years of existence I’ve never been so stressed and confused in my life. I’m taking seven classes at my university and I’m adjusting to the life at a university compared to a community college, which I was at last year. I’m realizing that professors quite frankly don’t give two shits if you’re taking seventeen credit hours and have other things to do (Sorry for my language). They want you to spend multiple hours a day on the class they are teaching not even considering that, yeah, you are taking more classes than just theirs. Now, this isn’t always the case and there are professors out there who realize how much stuff you actually have to do but usually that’s not the case. Basically, suck it up and deal with it.

Yeah, I’m having trouble dealing with it. I have to take buses on campus because I refuse to walk a mile in freezing cold weather (Granted it’s getting warmer but I’m lazy, and am still not walking a mile to class. My poor feet can’t handle it). At the beginning of the semester these buses were really good to me. Always got me where I needed to be on time without any problems. Well, suddenly the buses decided to pick on Taylor until she had a mental breakdown. I’ve had a bus breakdown on me where the bus driver refused to let me off until some girl burst through the doors and started walking. A bus driver, literally, left me in the pouring rain (basically he forgot I got off the bus to let people off, because it was so crowded, and he shut the doors on me, and drove off leaving me in the pouring rain). They’ve made me late, made me fall into other people, and been in a bus with at least 50 people all squished together. Yay, public transportation!

Well, I had my breaking point and completely broke down as soon as I stepped into work. I bawled my eyes out in front of my boss and it was one of the most embarrassing moments of my life. After that incident I took five weeks off of work hoping to de-stress and unwind a bit, and focus on my studies. I have to say it’s helped a lot because I’m not constantly worrying about making it to work on time, hoping that the bus doesn’t break down and make me late. I miss my kids at work but the little stress that is lifted off my shoulders helps so much.

Why is the title of this blog entry, “Can I be Five Again?” I’m sure you’re wondering. A couple of weeks ago, during spring break, I babysat four amazing kids ages 2, 5, 9, and 10 from eight  in the morning until five. You would think it would be stressful and chaotic, but it was the most peaceful week of my life. At times it got chaotic but in the time span of a week those kids taught me something that I wouldn’t have learned if I hadn’t taken that gig. (Great timing too because it was the week after my mental breakdown). They taught me how to just live life and not worry. Some of you are probably thinking, ‘shouldn’t you already know how?’ In a way, yes. But after a week of tears and stress I forgot how to live and not worry. They brought me back to life by being the happy kids they are. We made up games, played basketball, tennis, football, swung on the swings, played in the mud, colored, and many hugs were exchanged. That whole week was all smiles for me because they silently said, “everything will be okay,” and that’s exactly what I needed to realize. Everything will be okay in the end. If it’s not okay it’s not the end. untitled

I guess what I’m trying to say is yes, you can be five again. All it takes is a huge smile without any worries and go relax by playing a fun game with friends, family, or even your own kids if you have any.

Have you ever been so stressed you just feel like it’s the end of the world? How do you get over it?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

