New Years Resolutions and Reminiscing on 2014

First of all, I’m so sorry I haven’t written on here since May! I just got completely busy with school, work and all my summer travels. I can’t wait to write about 2014 though because it was one of the best years I’ve ever had. I learned a lot and worked harder than I ever have in school. Determination took over.

2014 was full of surprises, tears, stress, new friends, broken friendships and endless fun. I don’t  even know where to begin.

Remember my last post in May where I wrote about the friends I would be “friends with for life”? Yeah, we aren’t friends anymore. Things changed and once everyone separated we all feel apart. Drama kicked in for a couple of us and that’s when I left the picture. Friendships aren’t meant to last forever. They do fall apart and that’s part of life. In a way it’s heart breaking because you opened up to those people and spent so much time with them, time wasted. It’s not really time wasted though because you learned what you want in a friendship and what you don’t want. It’s still a learning experience no matter how old you are.

Speaking of friendships I branched out and made two really close friends in a couple of my classes. It’s something new for me because I’m so shy and laid back that it doesn’t bother me to sit alone in classrooms. I just grab a book and close myself off from the world. This past semester I decided it was enough of that and I started talking to the people around me. In every class there was at least one person I talked to and a couple of them stuck with me at the  end of the semester. Those are the friends you need to keep around.

I also connected with a couple of my professors this past semester and that’s something I highly recommend because who else are you going to get letters of recommendations from? Connecting with professors is huge in order to apply for internships.

One more thing about this past semester I buckled down and finally focused on my school work more than I focused on Netflix. It paid off, I ended up with 3 A’s and 3 B’s with a semester GPA of 3.3.  Hard work does pay off.

My New Years Resolutions:

1. Branch out more, get out of my comfort zone.

I’ve always had a problem with staying in my comfort zone because it’s obviously where I’m most comfortable and relaxed. Well, let me just tell you that you will get no where if you rest in your comfort zone for your entire life. It’s time to get out there and make a ton of friends, connect with professors, make connections with the right people, nail that internship and prove people wrong. Don’t let anyone say you can’t do it, because you can.

2. Write a book.

I’m currently writing a book. It’s slightly crappy but I’ve grown to really like it and I want to finish it before the end of the year. It may not get published and I may be the only one to ever read it but I’m okay with that, because I’ll have written a whole book. I never said I wanted it published, I just want to write a book.

3. Work out at least three times a week.

I’m already having problems with this. I can’t find a workout I actually like and want to do. If It wasn’t below freezing outside I would start running again. I need inside workout ideas. Help me with this one! Any ideas are welcome. And motivational tips to get me to actually do the workout would be nice, too…

4. Be more confident in myself

I’ve grown a lot in the confidence area ever since this past semester at IU. I kind of got in that mind set of not caring what other people think because I more than likely won’t ever see them again. Confidence will get you a long way in a lot of things such as your future career, and making relationships.

5. Get an Internship

I really need to get my act together and find an internship that will look killer on a resume. Internships are extremely important to get a future job, experience is key. I’m applying for a few out of state for the summer. Wish me luck.

I promise to write more. at least 3-4 times a week. I’m working on it.

What are your New Years Resolutions? 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

