Those Friends

So you know those friends you used to be so comfortable around and could say anything and not feel judged? Those friends where you’ve tried getting a hold of but never get back to you. Those friends you buy/do everything for but they give you nothing in return. Those friends who all get together but leave you out of it, or leave you out of a social media post and it makes you feel excluded, like you don’t belong. Well, I’m not talking about those friends.

I’m talking about the friends where you can go into a screaming rage and they look at you like you’re normal. You don’t feel judged. You feel like you can say anything without having to worry what others will think of you. You can finally be yourself and who you’re meant to be. The friends where you run from one side of the parking lot to the other side just to jump in their arms with a massive bear hug. They don’t put you in awkward situations and are always positive about everything. Those are the friends I want to be surrounded by for the rest of my life. I found those friends.

Today I went to my college baseball teams home game with a few of my close friends. A couple of friends I hadn’t seen in a long time and we’ve never ran faster through the parking lot to greet each other. We tailgated before the game with the music blaring in the car, and all of us singing at the top of our lungs not caring what other people were thinking. Drinks in our hands and the talk fest begins. Millions of pictures were taken and inside jokes that will last a life time. We all yelled our lungs out during the game to the point where I, personally, almost lost my voice.

I love baseball. I love friends. But I love friends who bring out the best and loudest of me the most. They’ve seen the true me and some of my friends haven’t seen the changed me yet. I don’t think they will but that’s okay because I have these friends who are getting to know me like the back of their hand. I was very light and carefree today for the first time in a long time and my heart was just filled with joy.

IMG_4625[1] IMG_4627[1] IMG_4645[1] IMG_4646[1] IMG_4650[1] IMG_4652[1]

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

